Cleifiog can been seen on the John Speed map of 1610. It was originally a hospice run by monks and the motto over the door dates from that time. Later it was used as a customs house. Thomas Telford is reputed to have stayed at Cleifiog whilst the Menai Suspension Bridge was being built, and since that time it has been a family home. The house was extensively renovated in the 1980s and boasts a wealth of interesting architectural features.
During the late 18th century, Beaumaris was the leading Welsh port and the 14th largest in Britain, with goods being imported from all around the world. The town was also famous for its pirates with many living openly in Beaumaris, it was a favoured landing place for smuggled goods.
Beaumaris has its own moated castle and at one time, Beaumaris was the administrative and social centre of Anglesey with its own MP, law court and gaol. It was an important coaching stop on the route to Ireland but began to lose its influence when the Menai Suspension Bridge was opened. Although from this time many of the island's administrative functions were lost to Llangefni, Beaumaris was able to capitalise on its excellent location on the banks of the Menai Strait to lure visitors to its many attractions. These days tourists come to the town to savour the unique atmosphere of ancient buildings and narrow streets.